Copy Cat Fish Dish

Well hello there!

I had the most fantastic fish entree a few weeks ago at Rock Creek Seafood and Spirits in Seattle. I keep thinking about it….dreaming about it, even. Time to get creative and see if I can duplicate it or get close. The description gives me a few clues, “Short Trip Neah Bay Black Cod Provencale, sherry, lime, caramelized shallots, Provencale herbs.” I searched for something similar on my favorite cooking websites and found this recipe on Williams-Sonoma and I think I came pretty darn close.

Fish Provencal

4 fillets of Halibut, 6-8 oz each (I used cod)

Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

2 T dry white wine (I used dry Sherry)

1 lb. ripe tomatoes, cut 1/2 inch thick (I cut mine thinner 1/4 inch or so)

3 T EVOO

1 T parsley

1 clove garlic, minced

1 T fresh tarragon

1/4 t. Fresh thyme leaves

2-3 T find dry bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly oil baking dish just large enough to hold fillets snugly in single layer. Place fillets in dish and season with the salt and pepper and drizzle with wine. Arrange tomato slices on top of fish slightly overlapping if necessary.

IMG_1345photo 2

 

In small bowl, stir together 2 T of the olive oil, garlic, and herbs. Spoon this over the tomatoes, season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with the bread crumbs. Drizzle with the remaining 1 T olive oil.

Bake until the bread crumbs are browned on the top and fish is opaque throughout about 25-30 minutes. Serve immediately and directly from the baking dish. Serves 4.

I carmelized some shallots in ample oil over medium-high heat for about 35-50 minutes until nicely golden…being careful not to burn. Crispy carmelized shallots are so delicious over just about anything…save the leftovers for an extra special garnish or flavorful topping.IMG_1901

 

Give it a try and tell me what you think!

 

IMG_1913

adapted from William-Sonoma Fish for Dinner (Weldon Owen, 2009)

Standard

3 thoughts on “Copy Cat Fish Dish

Leave a Reply

